Fremantle CBC’s dominant second half overpowers Kalamunda

Monday, April 24, 2017 - 4:17 PM - by Sarah Mozley

Round two of the A-grade competition saw 2016’s finalist Fremantle CBC take on a struggling Kalamunda side that have managed to avoid relegation the last few seasons.

Fremantle took complete control of the game in the final half by dominating clearances and time inside forward 50, alongside a strong defensive structure that restricted effective entry into Kalamunda’s half.

However, Fremantle’s poor goal-kicking resulted in a close game, with Fremantle finishing on 9.14 (68) to Kalamunda’s 8.6 (54).

Fremantle couldn’t shake their inaccuracy as they missed several set shots and in the end they didn’t have much to show for the amount of time spent in their half.

The game opened with a glimpse of Kalamunda’s strength as they dominated possession in the first few minutes, however the game quickly turned around resulting in four Fremantle goals to Kalamunda’s one for the term.

Kalamunda will be proud of their efforts in the second quarter as they came out fighting and managed to lay some scoreboard pressure on Fremantle by getting three goals and conceding just one.

The second term resulted in the smallest margin for Fremantle for the game, being just nine points ahead at half time with Kalamunda wrestling the ball back into their side.

Fremantle bounced back in the third quarter as they locked the ball in their half for most of the term, however, this only highlighted their inaccuracy only scoring two girls but five behinds. 

The final quarter saw a similar effort from Fremantle as they absolutely dominated the term with time spent in their half but their effort only resulted in two goals and four behinds.

Considering the lack of opportunities Kalamunda had to score in the final half, they will be pleased with the close final score as they proved to be more effective when they did get the ball inside 50.

Fremantle will be happy with their dominance in the game resulting in a win, but will be disappointed with the final score as they had plenty of scoring opportunities and they squandered a lot of time inside their half. 


WAAFL commemorates the Anzac’s

Thursday, April 20, 2017 - 10:41 AM

This Saturday 22 April the WAAFL recognises the sacrifices of those men and women who served for our country.

Eleven clubs requested home games in order to show their support for Anzac Day Round.

While some clubs will hold formalities this Saturday on our official Anzac Round others will hold theirs next Saturday 29 April. 

Below are some of the ways our clubs are getting involved:

Read More ...

Clubs come together in memory of Mark

Wednesday, April 19, 2017 - 10:45 AM

On Saturday 22 April, the High Wycombe and Kingsway Integrated match will be played in memory of Mark Peck.

Mark lost his life in tragic circumstances in January this year- he was 24 years old.

Mark played for the Kingsway Integrated Team before joining High Wycombe last year. The match has been fixtured between the two clubs to allow the players to show their respects.

Players will be wearing black armbands and observing a minute’s silence before the match.

The match will start at 4.30pm at Scott Reserve, High Wycombe. 

Forrestdale Club Event: Hells Bells

Wednesday, April 19, 2017 - 9:38 AM

Forrestdale Senior Football Club are holding a club event on Sunday 30 April. 

See below flyer for details:


Read More ...

Scarborough scrapes a win past inconsistent Wembley

Tuesday, April 18, 2017 - 9:57 AM - by Sarah Mozley

Round one of the WAAFL season saw 2016’s A-grade grand finalists Scarborough take on B-grade premiers Wembley in a low-scoring battle for dominance.

The first game of the season was a test for Wembley to see how they would fit into the A-grade competition after their promotion last year, however they fell short with a final score of 6.9 (45) to Scarborough’s 8.9 (57).

Read More ...

Sign Up to the WAAFL Tipping Competition!

Friday, April 7, 2017 - 3:27 PM

The WA Amateur Football League has its own Tipping Competition! 

The tipping competition features 7 Grades (A, B, C1, C2, C3 ,C4 and E1) with participants given the chance to tip in one or all of the grades- its completely up to the tipper. 

Tipping kicks off on Saturday 8th April so sign up now to avoid missing Round 1. 

To find out more information or to sign up click Here

Good Luck!

A Grade Season Preview

Friday, April 7, 2017 - 9:48 AM


Curtin Uni Wesley 

Fremantle CBC


North Beach


Trinity Aquinas



West Coast


Read More ...

‘Rainbow Round’ turns the ECU Jets into a sea of colour

Thursday, April 6, 2017 - 2:42 PM

If you are heading to Windermere Park in Joondalup this Saturday 8 April prepare for a sea of colour as the ECU Jets celebrate ‘Rainbow Round’

The ECU Jets E3 Grade team will be wearing rainbow socks and shoelaces for their Round One clash to raise awareness of LGBTI prejudice in sport.

Read More ...

B Grade Season Preview

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 - 4:50 PM


Hamersley Carine
Mt Lawley
North Fremantle
Swan Athletic


Read More ...

C1 Grade Season Preview

Monday, April 3, 2017 - 2:27 PM


•    Ballajura
•    Bullcreek Leeming
•    Carlisle
•    Kenwick
•    Kingsley
•    Melville
•    Noranda
•    Quinn’s Districts
•    Thornlie
•    Willetton 

Read More ...

Sarah Michell Appointed to WAAFL Board

Friday, March 31, 2017 - 3:09 PM

The Western Australian Amateur Football League (WAAFL) has appointed Sarah Michell to the WAAFL Board. 

Michell, (or ‘Jags’ as she is commonly known within football) brings immense football administration knowledge to the WAAFL as a former Board member of the WA Womens Football League and current President of the Coastal Titans Womens Football Club.

WAAFL President, Sam Birmingham said, “The WAAFL Board believe ‘Jags’ knowledge of female football will assist amateur clubs who have shown interest in starting up womens teams.”

Michell’s work within the disability sports sector will also complement the WAAFL’s expansion of Integrated Football for the intellectually disabled.

A Special General Meeting on the 14th June 2017 will be conducted for clubs to confirm this appointment as required by rule 10.7 of the WAAFL Constitution.


About Sarah Michell

  • Qualified Teacher
  • Current Programs Manager - WA Disabled Sports Association
  • President (Founding) – Coastal Titans Football Club since 2004
  • Former WAWFL Board Member
  • Former WAWFL State Assistant Coach
  • 2012 WAWFL Volunteer of the Year

C2 Grade Season Preview

Friday, March 31, 2017 - 11:10 AM


•    Bassendean
•    Canning South Perth
•    Canning Vale
•    Gosnells 
•    High Wycombe
•    Lynwood Ferndale
•    Nollamara
•    Ocean Ridge
•    Swan Valley
•    Warnbro

Read More ...

C4 Grade Season Preview

Tuesday, March 28, 2017 - 3:09 PM


•    Armadale
•    Bayswater
•    Cockburn Cobras
•    Cockburn Lakes
•    Jandakot
•    Kwinana
•    Osborne Park
•    Rossmoyne 
•    Secret Harbour
•    Yanchep 

Read More ...

Willetton FC to host Dane Swan- 7 May

Tuesday, March 28, 2017 - 1:36 PM

Willetton Football Club are hosting Dane Swan supported by Darren Mcaullay on Sunday 7 May 2.00- 6.00pm at Willetton Sports & Community Centre. 

Read More ...

C3 Grade Season Preview

Friday, March 24, 2017 - 2:47 PM


  • Belmont
  • Brentwood Booragoon
  • Coolbinia West Perth
  • Cottesloe
  • Dianella Morley
  • Ellenbrook
  • Manning Rippers
  • Mosman Park
  • Piara Waters
Read More ...