C1 Grade Season Preview Monday, April 3, 2017 - 2:27 PM

Share |


•    Ballajura
•    Bullcreek Leeming
•    Carlisle
•    Kenwick
•    Kingsley
•    Melville
•    Noranda
•    Quinn’s Districts
•    Thornlie
•    Willetton 

The 2016 C1 grand final saw two former B Grade sides battle it out after both spending just one year in the grade. With both Stirling and Maddington now back in B Grade the competition has potentially opened up for a new team to be crowned premiers. 

Melville and Quinn’s Districts may be the early favourites having competed at the higher level and both made the Grand Final in this grade just a couple of years ago. 

Melville have appointed Mathew Aitchison as their league coach for 2017. Aitchison spent 2016 at Canning South Perth before making the move to Melville this year. Aitchison replaces former coach Cliff Collard. 

Quinn’s Districts have appointed Ian Lee as coach this season after only managing three wins in B grade last year. It was the first time they have missed the finals series since 2012.  

Thornlie will enter C1 with some confidence after finishing 2016 undefeated and with a premiership to their name. Thornlie were last in C1 back in 2013 when they finished bottom of the ladder with just three wins. 

Carlisle have appointed a new coach for their C1 side this season with Mark Grogan taking over from Peter Drew. It has been 52 years since Carlisle won a premiership in C1 Grade, will 2017 be the year they break the drought?

Kingsley have gained some AFL experience appointing former Fremantle Docker Antoni Grover as head coach for 2017. Grover played 202 games as a defender for the Dockers from 1999 to 2012. Most recently he coached Kelmscott’s A Grade side in 2016. Kingsley have made the finals for the past three years including the past two Preliminary finals and now look to go further with Grover on board. Andrew Fisher will be one to watch in this team after claiming the last two C1 WAAFL Best and Fairest Medals. 

Ballajura are slowing working their way up through the grades spending 2015 in C3, 2016 in C2 and now 2017 in C1. Neil Harvey will continue as coach in 2017. 

Willetton made their way into the finals in 2016 after finishing in fourth position. A boost for the club after finishing 2015 in seventh position and 2014 at the bottom of B Grade. Their finals series was short lived however they will look to improve this season under returning head coach Kyle Martin. 

It was a tough year for Bullcreek Leeming finishing just one position above relegation last season. The bombers have switched it up and appointed Wayne Langborne as coach for 2017. Wayne is an experienced coach having coached the WAAFL U23 State Team, WAFL U19’s, North Fremantle A Grade side as well as various other roles within amateur football. 

Kenwick move into new facilities in 2017 and have reappointed Leigh Martin as coach. Kenwick finished their first year in C1 in seventh position with 7 wins and 11 losses. 


Noranda coach Paul Dilena returns to coach the hawks in season 2017. Frank Agostino will be one to watch in this team after a successful 2016 season taking out the Club Best and Fairest as well as finishing second in the C1 WAAFL Best and Fairest Count. 


Last Premiership in C1

  • Ballajura - 
  • Bullcreek Leeming - 2012
  • Carlisle - 1965
  • Kenwick -
  • Kingsley - 2008
  • Melville - (Runners up 2015)
  • Noranda -
  • Quinn’s Districts - 2015
  • Thornlie -
  • Willetton - 2007