B Grade Season Preview Wednesday, April 5, 2017 - 4:50 PM

Share |


Hamersley Carine
Mt Lawley
North Fremantle
Swan Athletic



Kelmscott find themselves back in B Grade after spending just two seasons in A Grade. Kelmscott were competitive in their first season in A Grade making the finals but unfortunately that’s where it ended as they recorded just four wins and dropped to ninth on the ladder last year.  

For Hamersley Carine, their time in A Grade was short lived as they recorded just two wins last season to see themselves straight back to B Grade. A new coach has been appointed to lead the side in 2017 with Marty Branston taking over from former coach Tim Hall. Tim has taken up a position as a defence coach at East Perth. They will also be without former East Fremantle player and 2015 B Grade Grand Final Best on Ground Brett Dale as he decided to hang up the boots at the end of last season. 


Kingsway look to be building towards a premiership after finishing fourth on the ladder by percentage in 2016 and making the semi-finals. Last year their side was boosted by the arrival of former East Perth player Ryan Maldenis who took out Kingsway’s B Grade Best and Fairest as well as finishing runner up in the WAAFL B Grade Best and Fairest count. They have stuck with long-time coach Kingsley Hunter for season 2017.


North Fremantle have appointed former AFL player Shane Woewodin to lead their league side in 2017. The 2000 Brownlow Medallist played a total of 200 AFL games for Melbourne and Collingwood before finishing in the AFL at the end of 2005. Since his retirement as a player he has held coaching positions at East Fremantle and the Brisbane Lions. North Fremantle began their preseason with some strategic planning off field to ensure they climb back up the ladder after finishing in sixth position last season.

Mt Lawley finished in fifth position but did not make it past the first round of the finals last year. The hawks have stuck with former West Coast Eagles player Josh Wooden as coach as they rebuild back to their A Grade form. The McKinlay brothers are the ones to watch in this side as they both received the 2016 B Grade Leading Goalkicker award with 57 goals for the season. David McKinlay also won the WAAFL B Grade Best and Fairest as well as the Brad Dunn Medal as the Club’s Best and Fairest player.

Both Stirling and Maddington jump back into B Grade after spending just a year in C1. In a close Grand Final Maddington won the premiership by six points. Tony Mirabella will coach Stirling for the second year in a row while Maddington have reappointed Andrew Catalano.


After making the finals in 2015 Wanneroo finished in eighth position in 2016 with just six wins for the year. They have appointed a new coach with Brayden Duckworth joining the roos. Brayden has experience playing in the WAFL for West Perth and Swan Districts.

Swan Athletic have reappointed Jai Menegola for another season as head coach. Swan Athletic missed the finals last season after finishing in seventh position.

Collegians will look to build on last year’s success after making the preliminary final but unfortunately lost to Whitford by 42 points. It was the first time Collegians have made the finals since they were relegated from A Grade at the end of 2013. They have reappointed Ricki Smith as coach for a second year.




Last B Grade Premiership

  • Hamersley Carine - 2015
  • Kelmscott - 2014
  • Collegians - 2010
  • Mt Lawley - 2009
  • Wanneroo - 2001
  • Stirling - 1998 (As Balcatta Osborne Park)
  • Swan Athletic - 1995 (Runners up 2011)
  • North Fremantle - 1993 (Runners up 2014)
  • Maddington - Nil (Runners up 2010)
  • Kingsway - Nil